6) Südafrikanische Union. Gesetz über die Staatsangehörigkeit und Flagge, 1927 (Auszug)

Union Nationality and Flags Act, 1927. (Union of South Africa Acts 1927, Nr. 40)

Chapter II.

Flags of the Union of South Africa.

Flags of the Union.

- 7. (1) The flags of the Union shall be
 - (a) the Union Jack to denote the association of the Union with the other members of the group of nations constituting the British Commonwealth of Nations; and
 - (b) the National Flag of which the design is set out in section eight.
- (2) The Union Jack shall be flown with the National Flag from the Houses of Parliament and from the principal Government buildings in the Capitals of the Union and of the Provinces, at the Union ports, and on Government offices abroad, and at such other places in the Union as the Government may determine.
- (3) The Governor-General may by regulation fix the manner in which the flags may be flown on ships on the high seas or for special purposes or occasions.

Design of National Flag.

8. — The design of the National Flag of the Union shall be —

Three horizontal stripes of equal width from top to bottom, orange, white, blue; in the centre of the white stripe the old Orange Free State Flag hanging vertically, spread in full, with the Union Jack adjoining horizontally spread in full towards the pole, and the old Transvaal Vierkleur adjoining horizontally spread in full away from the pole, equidistant from the margins of the white stripe. The flags shall all be of the same size and their shape shall be proportionally the same as the National Flag and the width of each equal to one-third of the width of the white stripe.

Chapter III.

General.

Interpretation 9. — In this Act — of terms.

"Union" means the Union of South Africa and includes the mandated territory of South West Africa.

Short title and 10. — This Act may be cited as the Union Nationality and Flags date of com-Act, 1927, and shall commence and come into operation on the 31st May, 1928.